Jan 29, 2021

Murder in an Irish Bookshop by Carlene OConnnor

Hello my cozy friends,

Today I am reviewing "Murder in an Irish Bookshop " the 7th instalment in the "Irish Village" Mystery series by Carlene O’Connor.  This is one of my many favourite cozy series! 

In Carlene O'Connor's seventh installment of her USA Today bestselling Irish Village Mystery series, the grand opening of a new bookstore in Kilbane becomes the closing chapter of an author's life--and a whodunit that tests even Garda Siobhán O'Sullivan's deductive reasoning...

"A mélange of clues from classic mysteries plus plenty of Irish charm produce an enjoyable read."--Kirkus Reviews Join a bestselling author and travel to County Cork in Ireland to solve a bookish mystery full of twists in a cozy whodunit perfect for fans of Sheila Connolly, Kate Carlisle, and Laura Childs! 

Between training the new town garda and trying to set a wedding date with her fiancé, Macdara Flannery, Siobhán O'Sullivan is feeling a bit overwhelmed. She's looking forward to visiting the new bookshop and curling up with an exciting novel--only to discover the shelves contain nothing but Literature with a capital L. The owner not only refuses to stock romances, mysteries, and science fiction, but won't even let customers enter his store unless they can quote James Joyce or Sean Hennessey. Despite the owner deliberately limiting his clientele, he's hosting a reading and autographing event featuring up and coming Irish writers who will be taking up residency in Kilbane for a month. Among them is indie author Deirdre Walsh, who spends more time complaining about the unfairness of the publishing industry and megastar bestsellers instead of her own creative works, causing a heated debate among the writers. She seems to have a particular distaste for the novels of Nessa Lamb. Then Deirdre's body is found the next day in the back of the store--with pages torn from Nessa's books stuffed in her mouth. Now, Siobhán must uncover which of Kilbane's literary guests took Deirdre's criticisms so personally they'd engage in foul play . . .

I loved this story, and I will definitely be adding it to my paperback collection.  I always love visiting the village of Kilbane in County Cork. I like the interaction between the O'Sullivan Six, as it portrays a loving family dynamic, Siobhán is worrying about turning 29 as well as setting a wedding date when a murder occurs at the new bookshop.

The mystery is super interesting and well plotted, and loaded with red herrings.  I loved the characters which are well developed, plus the introduction of a few new characters to the village who are extremely quirky.  I kept guessing and second-guessing myself on whodunnit right to the very end. 

I highly recommend this book to all my cozy loving friends.

I requested and received an advance reader copy of this book from Kensington Books and Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs,


Follow my blog with Bloglovin


No comments:

Post a Comment

An Intrigue of Witches A Secret Society Mystery by Esme Addison

Hello my cozy friends,  Today I am reviewing “An Intrigue of Witches” by Esme Addison the first instalment in A Secret Society Mystery .  Wh...