May 10, 2021

Reserved for Murder by Victoria Gilbert

Hello my cozy friends, 

Today I am reviewing "Reserved for Murder" the 2nd instalment in the "A Booklover's B&B Mystery" series by Victoria Gilbert. I think this series will be on my must read list, I really enjoy the setting and am beginning to like the main characters.

More bloodshed at a bibliophiles' bed-and-breakfast as Victoria Gilbert's delightful series continues.

Meeting your favorite author in the flesh can be the chance of a lifetime. But for one unlucky fan, her plum place in line at a book signing will lead to her untimely demise.

Beaufort, North Carolina, is home to Chapters Bed and Breakfast, owned and operated by former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed. This historic 18th-century inn draws in voracious readers from far and wide with its lovingly curated special events celebrating a host of genres and authors.

On this sunny July weekend, a visit by one of the biggest names in romantic fantasy attracts throngs of admirers to the quaint coastal village. That's not ideal, as the author retreated to Chapters to get away from it all for a while. No matter--she'll appease her fans with a "Tea and Talk" meet-and-greet at the B&B celebrating her bestselling series (starring a devilishly dashing, time-traveling pirate), follow that up with a quick book signing at Bookwaves, the hip indie bookstore across town, and spend the remainder of the weekend in delightful repose.

But when the president of the reclusive writer's fan club is found dead in the harbor by the Beaufort docks--done in by a blunt-force blow to the head--it's up to Charlotte Reed, her neighbor Ellen, and Ellen's trusty Yorkshire terrier to sniff out the killer. Because if they can't, a spectacularly successful book series--and its author--may come to a sudden, lethal conclusion.


I found myself engrossed in the story and reading it over a couple of days. As a booklover , would love to be staying at a B&B along with one of my favorite authors.  Learning the ins and out as well as the pitfalls of trying to make it as a writer these days.  

I loved the characters of Ellen and Charlotte and the bond that’s forming as we slowly find out more of their backstory in each new book.  Could there be a bit of romance in charlottes future...    

Overall the mystery was entertaining, full of twists and turns as well as a few surprises.  I didnt guess the killer before Charlotte this time!

I can’t wait to read the next book and see how things are at Chapters B&B in Beaufort, North Carolina.

I highly recommend this book to all my cozy loving friends.
I requested and received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Crooked Lane Books and NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my OWN.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs,










Follow my blog with Bloglovin

May 9, 2021

Wartime with the Cornish Girls by Betty Walker

Hello my friends,

Today I am reviewing Wartime with the Cornish Girls by Betty Walker the first in the feel-good new Cornish Girls series.  What can I say other than I loved it and read in a day. 

1941. The Blitz rages over London. 
And even in Cornwall, the war is being fought…

When Violet loses her sister in the Blitz, she must take her nieces to safety in Cornwall. On the coast, she meets carefree chorus girl Eva, who is also running from the dangers of London.

But Porthcurno hides a secret military base, and soon Violet and Eva realise there’s a battle to fight in Cornwall, too.

Together with local Hazel, who works on the base, they must come together to help the war effort. But will their friendship be enough to keep them safe?

The perfect uplifting wartime read for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.

‘A fascinating story, beautifully written, with interesting characters I really liked. A most enjoyable read!’ Kitty Neale, Sunday Times bestselling author of A Daughter’s Ruin

‘A warm-hearted story – at times I laughed and at others I held my breath … I loved the characters and I’m delighted it is the first in a series’ Pam Weaver, Sunday Times bestselling author of Goodnight Sweetheart



The story follows the lives of three women who end up together in the Cornish town of Porthcurno where a top secret military base is running during WW2.  Growing up my gran and mum told us stories about the rationing, air raids over london and my mum being sent out to the country to be safe, because of this I was attracted to this book. 

I found the characters to be well developed, and multi-dimensional. There were multiple sub-plots to keep you engaged and interested in the outcome. 

I will definitely read other books by this author, i am excited to read “Christmas with the Cornish Girls” on November 25, 2021.

I requested and received an advance reader copy of this book from Avon Books UK and Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs, 

May 8, 2021

The Art of Betrayal by Connie Berry

Hello my cozy friends,

Today I am reviewing The Art of Betrayal the 3rd instalment in the “A Kate Hamilton Mystery” series by Connie Berry, this was my second time reading a book by this author and I was super happy to find out there was a new one. This can be read as a stand-alone but I find its always better to read in order.

In Connie Berry's third Kate Hamilton mystery, American antique dealer Kate Hamilton's spring is cut short when a body turns up at the May Fair pageant.

Spring is a magical time in England--bluebells massing along the woodland paths, primrose and wild thyme dotting the meadows. Antiques dealer Kate Hamilton is spending the month of May in the Suffolk village of Long Barston, enjoying precious time with Detective Inspector Tom Mallory. While attending the May Fair, the annual pageant based on a well-known Anglo-Saxon folktale, a body turns up in the middle of the festivities.

Kate is even more shocked when she learns the murder took place in antiquity shop owner Ivor Tweedy's stockroom and a valuable Chinese pottery jar that she had been tasked with finding a buyer for has been stolen. Ivor may be ruined. Insurance won't cover a fraction of the loss.

As Tom leads the investigation, Kate begins to see puzzling parallels between the murder and local legends. The more she learns, the more convinced she is that the solution to both crimes lies in the misty depths of Anglo-Saxon history and a generations-old pattern of betrayal. It's up to Kate to unravel this Celtic knot of lies and deception to save Ivor's business.
I loved visiting the village of Long Barstow in Suffolk again, Berry’s descriptions made you feel like are there in the rain of England. I also enjoyed learning a bit about antiques as well as local folklore.

Protagonist Kate is level headed, kind hearted and very talented at seeing little details and putting clues together to solve crimes. I really liked the side characters of Ivor Tweedy , Lady Barbara, Vivian and Fergus (pug). I enjoyed the ending of the story but wont give out any spoilers.

I found myself engrossed in the story and reading it in one sitting. I did suspect the killer early on but there were lots of twists and turns to keep me absorbed in the story. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good traditional British cozy mystery with a historical background.
I requested and received an Advanced Readers Copy from Crooked Lane Books and NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs, 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Reserved for Murder by Victoria Gilbert

Hello my cozy friends,  Today I am reviewing "Reserved  for Murder"   the 2nd instalment in  the " A Booklover's B&B ...