Oct 26, 2020

A Garland of Bones by Carolyn Haines

Hello my cozy friends, 

Today I am reviewing  "A Garland of Bones" by Carolyn Haines the 22nd instalment in the "A Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery" series. I really enjoy this series.
Spunky southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney tackles a string of strange accidents while celebrating the holiday season in Carolyn Haines's cozy A Garland of Bones

Sarah Booth has traded in hosting this Christmas season for a road trip with her besties. Each little Delta town has a special Christmas activity, and Sarah Booth’s bff and detective partner, Tinkie, has arranged to rent a limo for the gang and drive to Columbus, MS, to stay in a B&B. Visions of Christmas shopping, parade floats, and romantic rendezvous are already dancing in their heads.

But Christmas cheer soon turns to Christmas fear when, at one event after another, people keep getting hurt. Christmas karaoke gets ugly when one singer’s microphone gives her an electric shock. A party during a historic home tour ends with a fall down the stairs for one of Columbus’s most disreputable “players.” And when the woman who hires Sarah Booth to find the villain behind the so-called accidents is nearly killed with an arrow during a holiday mumming, Sarah Booth knows something more sinister is at work.

The Christmas bells are ringing hauntingly in Columbus this year, and Sarah Booth and Tinkie—with a little help from hunky Sheriff Coleman Peters, of course—are determined to catch the wrong-doers and ensure they receive nothing but coal in their stockings.

I enjoyed taking a trip to Columbus, MS, to stay in a B&B with Sarah and the gang. Sarah Booth is a strong and intelligent protagonist and all the characters are fully developed. I loved that Sarah Booth and her friends took a trip away before the christmas holidays.  We were able to get a better glimpse into the personal dynamics of each relationship.  The inclusion of her haint (Dahlia House's ghost Jetty) always brings a chuckle as i can imagine what Sarah looks like talking to herself.

There were plenty of twists and turns and lots of suspects to choose from to keep you intrigued.  I found this book to be a real page-turner, suspenseful, read that had me second guessing up till the end. 
 
I highly recommend this book and series to all my cozy mystery friends. 


I requested and received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from St. Martins Press and NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my OWN.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs,






Oct 25, 2020

Veiled in Death by Stephanie Blackmoore

Hello my cozy friends,

Today I am reviewing "Veiled in Death” the 6th instalment in the "Wedding Planner" Mystery series by Stephanie Blackmoore.   I have read only two other books previously and this can be read as a stand alone but you will want to read in order.


Wedding planner Mallory Shepard doesn't have time to organize her own nuptials--because right now she's engaged in solving a murder . . . 

When Mallory discovers some old lace at a Port Quincy antique shop, she knows it'll make a perfect headpiece. But she's barely gotten it out of the store before Helene Pierce tears it from her hands. Helene claims it's a family heirloom that went missing when her late husband died in a hit-and-run twenty-five years ago.

The conflict gets more complicated when the veil is attributed to none other than famed seamstress Betsy Ross. Mallory may have a genuine museum piece on her hands, but meanwhile Independence Day is right around the corner and she has to host the town's Revolutionary War re-enactment. Then it becomes clear there's a bigger mystery behind all this history when a local woman is murdered with a musket--and Mallory's investigation could set off some fireworks . . . 

I thoroughly enjoyed this story from start to finish, there was so much happening re-enactments, history, Mallory’s wedding and a little murder. There was more than one mystery to solve and I liked how it was all woven together so neatly that nothing seemed out of place. We got to know the characters their feelings, relationships and care about the outcome.  Amongst all this there were plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing on the identity of the killer.

I look forward to reading the rest of the series and book 7 when it comes out.


I requested and received an advance reader copy of this book from Kensington Books and Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own.


Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs,



Oct 23, 2020

Booked for Death by Victoria Gilbert

Hello my cozy friends, 

Today I am reviewing "Booked for Death" the 1st instalment in the "A Booklover's B&B Mystery" series by Victoria Gilbert. I think this is a great start to a new series.
From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.

The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.

I found myself engrossed in the story and reading it in almost one sitting. It was entertaining, full of twists and turns as well as a few surprises.  I did guess the killer before Charlotte but I still found this to be a fun easy read.

The mystery is interesting and well plotted, and I loved the characters of Ellen, and the Sandberg sisters and I think Charlotte and her BFF Julie will grow on me as the series unfolds.  

I can’t wait to read the next book and see how things are at Chapters B&B in Beaufort, North Carolina.

I highly recommend this book to all my cozy loving friends.


I requested and received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Crooked Lane Books and NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my OWN.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs,





A Garland of Bones by Carolyn Haines

Hello my cozy friends,  Today I am reviewing  "A Garland of Bones" by Carolyn Haines   the 22nd instalment in  the " A Sara...