Jun 13, 2021

A Hex for Danger by Esme Addison

Hello my cozy friends, 

Today I am reviewing “A Hex for Danger” by Esme Addison the 2nd instalment in the "An Enchanted Bay Mystery"
.  What a great follow up to the last book, I just love the whole mermaid, magical theme in this series.




The annual Mermaid Festival is the setting for Esme Addison's sunny-yet-sinister second Enchanted Bay mystery, perfect for fans of Heather Blake and Bailey Cates.

The small town of Bellamy Bay has its share of skeletons in its closet, but it isn't used to bodies turning up in the local history museum. After all, this coastal North Carolina town is much like any other...except, of course, for the mermaids.

Helping to run the family business, an herbal apothecary, while keeping her supernatural secret hidden is no easy feat for water witch Aleksandra Daniels. But somehow she's still found time to help her friend Celeste, who has her own Caribbean mermaid heritage, plan the annual Mermaid Festival. As fun-seekers throng the beaches, Alex gets to know and is intrigued by renowned artist Neve Ryland, who's in town to decorate the local park with a mermaid-themed mural. Celeste, however, is less enamored with the artist, as Neve has been spending entirely too much one-on-one time with her boyfriend Jasper, director of Bellamy Bay's history museum. Then, a reception for Neve ends abruptly when the artist is found dead in his office.

When the police investigation nets Celeste, Alex decides to find the true culprit. With the help of her magically-inclined aunt and cousins, Alex dives in to clear her friend's name. But there was more to Neve Ryland than met the eye...and Alex fears she may be in way too deep. Will she catch the crook or be next on the hook?
I found myself engrossed in the story and reading it over 2 days. It was entertaining, full of twists and turns as well as a few surprises.  The setting of Bellamy Bay was nice and I am a sucker for a cozy set in North Carolina.  This series is becoming a favourite and not just cause it centres around mermaids.

The mystery is interesting and well plotted, and I loved the characters which are well developed.  

I highly recommend this series to all my cozy loving friends. I am looking forward to book 3!

I requested and received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Crooked Lane Books and NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my OWN.

Thank you for stopping by and visiting my little blog!
I always love reading comments and getting to know my fellow cozy lovers.

Hugs,

No comments:

Post a Comment

Come Rain or Shine by Sarah Bennett

Hello my cozy friends, Today I am reviewing "Come Rain or Shine" by Sarah Bennett.  What can I say other than I loved it and read ...